Author Topic: VoxCommando vs Yatse Differences, Synchronization?  (Read 11283 times)

bcboncs

• View Profile
VoxCommando vs Yatse Differences, Synchronization?
« on: April 20, 2014, 02:13:01 PM »
Hi, I'm new to voice automation and I recently became familiar with Yatse.

How does VoxCommando compare to Yatse to those that have tried both?  I am using Tasker, Autovoice, and Yatse API to tell XBMC commands.  My one downside that I have with Yatse is that it needs to synchronize with the XBMC database.  i.e. I recently add a new movie, 'x'.  I have to sync Yatse with XBMC in order for the voice command: 'xbmc play movie x' to work.

Does VoxCommando have to synchronize to the XBMC database before calling a command or does VoxCommando initiate all commands directly to the database... being always synced?

jitterjames

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: VoxCommando vs Yatse Differences, Synchronization?
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2014, 06:37:16 PM »
Hi bcboncs,

These are two extremely different programs.  There are countless ways in which they are different.

To answer your specific question, yes. VoxCommando needs to know what is in your XBMC library in order to know what to listen for.  This is partly how it achieves its accuracy in recognizing speech, and specifically in being able to do partial matches when you don't know the full title you are looking for.  It is necessary for VoxCommando to periodically scan your library and update the voice commands based on the content of your libraries.

If you wanted to you could create a command that only listened for open dictation based only on simple language and then do an XBMC search based on the string, but your chances of getting the correct results would be significantly diminished using this method.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2014, 09:52:22 AM by nime5ter »

nime5ter

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Getting Started with VoxCommando