Author Topic: Programming Help  (Read 8580 times)

ddl

• View Profile
Programming Help
« on: November 12, 2013, 12:21:04 PM »
Hi, Great program.

I am very new to this and am looking for assistance with implementing a command that will fire when I come home.  Here is the idea.

D... I'm home
D... welcome home the time is ... the temperature outside is ... Would you like me to adjust the thermostat?

If yes then speak "ok, I will adjust the thermostat to 75 degrees and will adjust the lighting in the TV Room and Kitchen to 75 percent.  Is there anything else you would like me to do?"
If no then speak " ok, Would you like to listen to music? (From this point on I can use information provided from the example on this forum)

Any help would be appreciated.

To help me accomplish this I am using the following equipment.

XBMC
ISY994 Universal Device controller
Insteon Light switches
Insteon Thermostat

Kalle

• $upporter
    • View Profile
Re: Programming Help
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2013, 01:41:24 PM »
I think this video give you a start  ;)

www.youtube.com/watch?v=ewCRJZKFW34
***********  get excited and make things  **********

ddl

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2013, 01:50:40 PM »
Yes, that is where I got the idea.  However, I'm not so sure how to integrate VC with my insteon devices. 

nime5ter

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Getting Started with VoxCommando
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2013, 02:15:50 PM »
Do you already have VC working well with XBMC?

Have you been able to create the non-Insteon portions of the commands you're describing? It would be good to know what your level of familiarity is with VC command building, as well as your familiarity with your Insteon devices.

You will probably need to use one of the plugins, such as the X10 plugin or the TCP plugin to communicate with the Insteon devices.