Author Topic: At night power down all my pcs on the network, and be able to set an alarm  (Read 2604 times)

outlaw

• View Profile
jitter james , thanks I got it fixed,i should have said it was for xbmc ,im new to these fourms sorry I cant explain things right.
but I did manage to figure it out.

last couple things ide like vc to do is  at night power down all my pcs on the network,and be able to set an alarm,(like wake me at 10 am with the time and weather) ive looked on the fourms
but I cant figure it out,sorry but I don't have programming skills,and how its explained for setting an alarm makes no sense to me.
ive seen eg and it being used with vc is using eg easyer to setup as far as alarms?

jitterjames

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
It is hard to explain things when you don't know what you are doing but if people took the forum rules more seriously I think it would help everyone a lot.  (By everyone I mean the people seeking help and the people offering help.)

As far as shutting other systems down goes, VC can't directly shut down some other computer that it is not running on, so you need to have something running on the other system that can listen for a message and then shut the system down over there.  The simplest way to do that would be to install EventGhost on the other systems that you want to put the sleep.  If you want to go that route please install eventGhost and then try to familiarize yourself with it a bit before asking how to set this up.  Once you know how to use eventGhost a bit, the process is relatively easy.  We also have some info on VC and EventGhost in our VC wiki.

For setting an alarm, the first question I must ask is "will the VC system be off/sleeping at night".  If that is the case then you need to find a way to wake the system first before VC can do anything.  If the VC system is always on then it is a different story.

outlaw

• View Profile