Author Topic: Any Philips Hue users here?  (Read 29635 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Casmo

  • $upporter
  • Contributor
  • *****
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Any Philips Hue users here?
« Reply #45 on: April 02, 2014, 12:22:27 PM »
Thanks for that. Kalles command has actually been working great for lights in/off and change colour. Haven't got the scenes and dim up/down working properly yet but mainly because I havent had a lot of time to look at it, roll on the weekend.

Casmo

  • $upporter
  • Contributor
  • *****
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Any Philips Hue users here?
« Reply #46 on: April 02, 2014, 05:16:00 PM »
" On the change scene one, its appears to be only changing the first light e.g. light 3 below

hue lights 2 blue{CR}hue lights 1 mediumturquoise{CR}hue lights 3 dodgerblue

Sounds like it is only executing the last line then "


I was mistaken above, it's actually only the first line that is being executed.  Something about the carriage return it doesn't seem to like. Any ideas?

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7714
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: Any Philips Hue users here?
« Reply #47 on: April 02, 2014, 05:24:02 PM »
I have an idea.  Don't use a batch file!  ;D

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7714
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: Any Philips Hue users here?
« Reply #48 on: April 02, 2014, 05:32:26 PM »
Something like this should work.

You'll need version 1.9.1.9 or 1.1.9.1 for this xml to work:

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-16"?>
<!--VoxCommando 1.9.1.9-->
<command id="189" name="hue do that voodoo that hue do so well" enabled="true" alwaysOn="False" confirm="False" requiredConfidence="0" loop="False" loopDelay="0" loopMax="0" description="">
  <action>
    <cmdType>Launch.RawParam</cmdType>
    <params>
      <param>C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe</param>
      <param>/c hue lights 2 blue</param>
    </params>
    <cmdRepeat>1</cmdRepeat>
  </action>
  <action>
    <cmdType>Launch.RawParam</cmdType>
    <params>
      <param>C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe</param>
      <param>/c hue lights 1 mediumturquoise</param>
    </params>
    <cmdRepeat>1</cmdRepeat>
  </action>
  <action>
    <cmdType>Launch.RawParam</cmdType>
    <params>
      <param>C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe</param>
      <param>/c hue lights 3 dodgerblue</param>
    </params>
    <cmdRepeat>1</cmdRepeat>
  </action>
  <phrase>hue do that voodoo that hue do so well</phrase>
</command>

Casmo

  • $upporter
  • Contributor
  • *****
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Any Philips Hue users here?
« Reply #49 on: April 02, 2014, 07:10:08 PM »
Cheers James,

 So that's changing the the light scene perfectly (faster too) only thing is it's going to the desktop i.e minimising xbmc and throwing up 3 command windows

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7714
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: Any Philips Hue users here?
« Reply #50 on: April 02, 2014, 09:56:32 PM »
Look at the other launch actions that are available to you.

Casmo

  • $upporter
  • Contributor
  • *****
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Any Philips Hue users here?
« Reply #51 on: April 03, 2014, 04:16:14 PM »
Launch hidden, of course.. Working really well. Thanks again

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7714
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: Any Philips Hue users here?
« Reply #52 on: April 03, 2014, 04:44:52 PM »
My "teach by teasing" technique works!  ::wiggle

Casmo

  • $upporter
  • Contributor
  • *****
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Any Philips Hue users here?
« Reply #53 on: April 04, 2014, 09:28:15 PM »
Nice.. First the wife, then you.. Can't argue with results though

SuperKronz

  • $upporter
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Any Philips Hue users here?
« Reply #54 on: June 12, 2014, 07:36:37 PM »
I have been playing with the commands listed in this thread and gotten things working pretty well.  I just can't shake the feeling James and/or Nim could ROCK THIS - strobes and transition times come to mind!  A plug in would make my life complete.... or at least a little more fun.

Since I personally have more money than time or skill I thought I would float an option to see if anyone bites.  I'd be willing to buy an extra copy of Vox to donate towards the masters getting a Hue kit (3 bulbs and a controller).  Not sure if a plugin could be created but I'm sure they would find a way to make it sing.

And I know you both would love it - red alert, disco and tweak the intruder alert!  Don't pretend to be too grown up to appreciate blue light!  Kit is two bills...

Anyone else got a few bucks to support this?

(Alright, I want it so much I'd buy two xtra licenses... It's *that* cool).

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7714
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: Any Philips Hue users here?
« Reply #55 on: June 13, 2014, 10:03:29 AM »
Thanks very much for your offer SK.  ;D

In fact, we've been thinking in general about how to fund new plugins for a while now.  We created a "survey" / "form" / "voting mechanism" so that people could get together to crowd-fund new plugin development.

I had been holding off on it because I have been quite busy with the core program and the existing plugins.

But I guess this is as good a time as any so I have started a new thread over in the plugins section to announce it.

Check it out:

http://voxcommando.com/forum/index.php?topic=1620.msg14163

Casmo

  • $upporter
  • Contributor
  • *****
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Any Philips Hue users here?
« Reply #56 on: June 13, 2014, 12:23:52 PM »
I'd also be happy to throw some shekels at getting a hue plugin developed.

Just to reiterate what sk said, you guys would LOVE philips hue. Its really is a fantastic use of vc. As there
are so many possible combinations of colours, intensities etc. you could never cover it with a remote, reaching for a tablet or phone feels clunky and manual. To be able to pick up the amulet and tell the lights what colours you want is a joy.

I haven't even scratched the surface of whats possible either, the mind boggles as to what you folks could come up with.

Its unfortunate that hue is largely seen as an overpriced gimmick, as it really is a wonderful product.

 

SuperKronz

  • $upporter
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Any Philips Hue users here?
« Reply #57 on: June 13, 2014, 06:27:14 PM »
You nailed it Casmo.  Once you have a few lights, as soon as you add the colour options; there as just too many combos to use smoothly and quickly with buttons/screen interface. With Vox it's 'I'm talking to a starship cool'... especially with a few well placed TTSs and ability to play audio files.

I've got a few zwave dimmers and blast ir with a usbuirt - the combos are getting pretty funny.  With coloured lights, it's over the top  ;D

I can probably pick up another kit this weekend! steal 2 bulbs outta it and donate the box, controller and 1 bulb.  Now that's not the same fun/ experience as a new box and starting with only one bulb kind of blows ( I wanted more the second I had three lit up) so I'm happy to stick to my original 2 Vox license pledges.

Lol Vox licenses as an expression of currency :)

Anyway, so yeah - the crowd funding link comes at a great time (but we don't want anything to take priority over hue (think bird feeder plugin) so we gotta get James and Nim hooked pronto)

SuperKronz

  • $upporter
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Any Philips Hue users here?
« Reply #58 on: June 13, 2014, 06:40:54 PM »
***Also, COLORLOOP!***

Turn All bulbs on
Set Max brightness
Enable colorloop

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7714
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: Any Philips Hue users here?
« Reply #59 on: June 13, 2014, 06:44:14 PM »
We are already working on the birdfeeder plugin anyway.

:P