Author Topic: OpenUrl-Not working? VC Version 2.145  (Read 2332 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Spenner11

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 0
  • British laddo, kicking it in B.C
    • View Profile
OpenUrl-Not working? VC Version 2.145
« on: May 19, 2015, 06:13:47 PM »
Hi all, just installed VC 2.145 over my old install, now for some reason all my commands with Launch.OpenUrl do not work?
I get the error in VC history "Object reference not set to instance of an object"
Everything worked fine before installing the new version of VC.

Any help would be appreciated.
I HAVE tried-
Reinstalling Chrome
Reinstalling VC
Please note even the links in program to Wiki do not open either!

Thanks in advance, Jamie. :bonk

nime5ter

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2012
  • Karma: 61
    • View Profile
    • Getting Started with VoxCommando
Re: OpenUrl-Not working? VC Version 2.145
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2015, 06:21:51 PM »
Sounds frustrating.

I'm not able to reproduce the problem. Could you post one or two of your commands that are causing this error? Enabling logging, reproducing the error, and then attaching your log here might not hurt either.

http://voxcommando.com/mediawiki/index.php?title=Log
TIPS: POST VC VERSION #. Explain what you want VC to do. Say what you've tried & what happened, or post a video demo. Attach VC log. Link to instructions followed.  Post your command (xml)

nime5ter

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2012
  • Karma: 61
    • View Profile
    • Getting Started with VoxCommando
Re: OpenUrl-Not working? VC Version 2.145
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2015, 06:29:52 PM »
What happens if you use Launch.RawParam? e.g.

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-16"?>
<!--VoxCommando 2.1.4.5-->
<command id="766" name="Launch site in chrome" enabled="true" alwaysOn="False" confirm="False" requiredConfidence="0" loop="False" loopDelay="0" loopMax="0" description="">
  <action>
    <cmdType>Launch.RawParam</cmdType>
    <params>
      <param>{Path.PFx86}\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe</param>
      <param>https://www.youtube.com/user/jitterjames</param>
    </params>
    <cmdRepeat>1</cmdRepeat>
  </action>
  <phrase>Launch site in chrome</phrase>
</command>
TIPS: POST VC VERSION #. Explain what you want VC to do. Say what you've tried & what happened, or post a video demo. Attach VC log. Link to instructions followed.  Post your command (xml)

Spenner11

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 0
  • British laddo, kicking it in B.C
    • View Profile
Re: OpenUrl-Not working? VC Version 2.145
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2015, 06:31:26 PM »
Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-16"?>
<!--VoxCommando 2.1.4.5-->
<command id="1533" name="launch Youtube" enabled="true" alwaysOn="False" confirm="False" requiredConfidence="0" loop="False" loopDelay="0" loopMax="0" description="">
  <action>
    <cmdType>Launch.OpenURL</cmdType>
    <params>
      <param>www.youtube.com</param>
    </params>
    <cmdRepeat>1</cmdRepeat>
  </action>
  <phrase>Launch, open, start, go to</phrase>
  <phrase>Youtube</phrase>
</command>




All of the commands are really simple, as above, the most complex it gets is a little TTS chit chat whilst opening the web page.
I've attached my log, hope this helps!
Thanks, Jamie

Spenner11

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 0
  • British laddo, kicking it in B.C
    • View Profile
Re: OpenUrl-Not working? VC Version 2.145
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2015, 06:34:53 PM »
Nime5ter thanks for helping with this.
RawParam works fine, opens the youtube page in Chrome just fine.
Thanks
Jamie

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7714
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: OpenUrl-Not working? VC Version 2.145
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2015, 07:24:36 PM »
Launch.OpenUrl tries to open the url in your default web browser.  It sounds like you must not have a default defined for some reason.  Can you please tell me what version of Windows you are using? (nevermind it's in the log).
« Last Edit: May 19, 2015, 07:30:42 PM by jitterjames »

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7714
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: OpenUrl-Not working? VC Version 2.145
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2015, 07:33:53 PM »
For the record nothing has been changed in code that would affect Launch.OpenUrl for a really long time.  My guess would be that it's just a coincidence that it stopped working around the time you upgraded and something else has changed, such as a change in security, new anti-virus or something like that that is preventing VC from checking the registry for your preferred browser etc.

It's a computer though so all bets are off. ;)

I will have a look in the code to see if I can at least implement a fallback, or improve the logging to try to figure this out.  I've never heard of anyone else with this problem yet though.

Spenner11

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 0
  • British laddo, kicking it in B.C
    • View Profile
Re: OpenUrl-Not working? VC Version 2.145
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2015, 07:36:47 PM »
James, if this was a problem with default browser, wouldn't I have experienced this problem before now?
As I said previously, I have re-installed Chrome to be on the safe side, ticked the box to set it as default browser (Even though it was default already) Also checked in my default programs list and everything seems to check out there too.

As far as I'm aware the only recent new install I've done on my computer here is the newest version of VC, nothing has changed in months other than this except the reinstall of Chrome after I noticed the problem.

Appreciate the help and hope we can get to the bottom of this! I'm missing being mouse lazy  ;D
Jamie

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7714
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: OpenUrl-Not working? VC Version 2.145
« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2015, 07:54:56 PM »
As I said this part of the code in VC has not changed at all, probably for over two years.

I will look into it, but in the meantime I suggest you modify your existing commands to use rawparam.  Unless you have a really large number of commands using Launch.OpenUrl it should not be too difficult to convert them all.