Author Topic: Use VC to control Hubitat Hub  (Read 3657 times)

wanderer189

• View Profile
Use VC to control Hubitat Hub
« on: June 24, 2019, 09:20:30 PM »
I am new to Vox Commando, actually waiting on a microphone to try it out. I was looking for a solution to get my home automation 100% offline. I have been moving everything over to a Hubitat hub and it is awesome via a pc or tablet. It works great with Alexa & GH as well, but I wanted to find a way to use voice control without either of them (Alexa or GH) and have it working with voice control even without the internet.

That led me here.  I talked with the owner of Hubitat and asked him if this could be done with VC and his reply was this: "There doesn't appear to be anything created. It may be possible but it would likely be you at the center of development."

Has anyone tried this, or can point me to any useful information on how I might get this project going? I should be good to start in the next couple days as soon as the mic arives.

Thanks in advance

nime5ter

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Getting Started with VoxCommando
Re: Use VC to control Hubitat Hub
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2019, 10:05:51 PM »
Welcome to the forum.

I'm not familiar with that hub. It depends what kind of functionality you're hoping for but it looks like the simplest option might be to use its Maker API with VoxCommando's Scrape action.

https://docs.hubitat.com/index.php?title=Maker_API

https://voxcommando.com/mediawiki/index.php?title=Home_Automation#Scrape

The Fibaro and/or Domoticz posts on the forum should give you some sense of how to construct commands.

Note about commands posted as XML on the forum: https://voxcommando.com/mediawiki/index.php?title=XML_on_the_forum
« Last Edit: June 25, 2019, 07:58:04 AM by nime5ter »
TIPS: POST VC VERSION #. Explain what you want VC to do. Say what you've tried & what happened, or post a video demo. Attach VC log. Link to instructions followed.  Post your command (xml)