Author Topic: alternate to Python (or Iron Python) for custom coding  (Read 2097 times)

tobiastobindev

• $upporter
    • View Profile
alternate to Python (or Iron Python) for custom coding
« on: April 30, 2015, 03:29:21 PM »
Hello,
As I have stated before, I am not a professional programmer, and I can always stand to learn more.  I first started scripting about 15 years ago.  First languages were Perl, PHP, VBScript, and Javascript.  I got a book on Python and read online.  I am surprised at how many times I have read that Python is a great beginner language.  IMHO, Python is different.  Aside from Python ettiquite, the way things are just really seem to make Python unique to me in comparison to what I just listed.  IMHO the four items I listed all share similarities.

I'm trying to get my wife on board with VoxCommando, home automation, having some fun with technology.  When I was testing the SR program SARAH I had made a learning multiplication tables speech program for the kids.  She would ask the what x times y is and then they would answer and get it right or wrong and be told the correct answer.  My wife wants to get involved more and I really want that to happen.  She wants to make speech math learning stuff for the kids.  I told her she would have to use Python (this was all yesterday).  She looked at Python and then on the way home we talked about it and she told me she didn't care for it and I shared my feelings.

I am wondering, without creating more work for the VC team, how additional scripting/programming support might be accomplished with VC.  When I was testing Castle OS it allowed for C# scripts.  That was great.  I believe that was accomplished by using Mono Develop.  Working with Sarah I was using Javascript.  That is fine.  I would prefer to use something script for most things.  Plus I have to teach my wife all of this (she will self learn too and she is smart so no problem).