Author Topic: Control Kodi On Android Device (Nvidea Shield)  (Read 3394 times)

wanderer189

• View Profile
Control Kodi On Android Device (Nvidea Shield)
« on: June 27, 2019, 12:02:23 PM »
I am totally new to VC, got it for a different project. Anyways, I installed VC and used Kodi in the setup to get an idea and learn VC and the command structure . I was very impressed how well it worked out of the box.

So far, the only thing I can't get to work is the navigation (left, right, up, down) and select. I get the "keyboard (pc only)". I am sure there is way to fix this??

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

jitterjames

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: Control Kodi On Android Device (Nvidea Shield)
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2019, 12:39:11 PM »
Yes.  First I should mention that using voice commands for keyboard emulation is pretty cumbersome so if you have some other method I would use that. Still in a pinch sometimes it can be useful.

If you want to navigate on Kodi running on a remote system (e.g. not the same one that VC is running on) then you can't use keyboard emulation which is the default method.

Assuming that you've installed the preset configuration for Kodi 17 (and higher), your command tree should look something like the attached image.

Note that there is a group located within "Kodi Navigation and buttons" which is titled "Kodi Movement event client" and this group is greyed out which means that it has been disabled.  Right-click the groups and enable it.  You will also need to disable the group titled "Keyboard Emulation (local PC only)" so that the voice commands don't conflict with each other.  After enabling and disabling the groups in the editor you'll need to restart VC.  Alternatively you can enable and disable groups instantly in the groups window available on the main VC window but it's best to do it this way so that the setting is retained by default when you launch VC.