Author Topic: VoxCommando Universal Windows Platform Version  (Read 1721 times)

MetaCode

• View Profile
VoxCommando Universal Windows Platform Version
« on: March 04, 2018, 10:49:25 PM »
James,

Good evening.

For a while now Microsoft has been putting forth effort to entice and assist developers in migrating from developing their software for Win32 to the new UWP app platform. A portion of developers have made the move to UWP and a portion are holding fast in Win32. I am not a developer myself but from what I can tell via various online publications, the reasons for this vary from technical restrictions/considerations of the new UWP app platform, waiting to see what everyone else will do, or if Microsoft will abandon the new app platform altogether.

Several months ago, rumors started appearing about two new projects that Microsoft is working on in the realm of software and hardware. Project Polaris and Project Andromeda. For information on each project (for those interested) please see below.

Both of these projects represent Microsoft's efforts to create a new market for their hardware offerings and an appropriate user experience to compliment it. This new user experience will primarily cater to UWP apps but doesn't quite abandon Win32 applications. I don't feel these projects are vaporware because it was Microsoft's intention all along to create a universal user experience across multiple device form factors when they first released Windows 10. Also, Microsoft has been showing a clear adoption of more mobile friendly technologies with each upgrade of Windows 10 so it stands to reason that Win32 will reach its limits in the not so distant future.

May I ask if you have any plans on evolving VoxCommando to a UWP app by re-writing it or convert it using the Desktop Bridge (Centennial)?

Thank you for your time in reading this lengthy post.

Sincerely,

MetaCode
« Last Edit: March 04, 2018, 10:51:47 PM by MetaCode »

jitterjames

• Administrator
    • View Profile