Author Topic: Extending Watcher Plugin  (Read 7561 times)

Nodo

• View Profile
Extending Watcher Plugin
« on: June 02, 2015, 11:49:42 PM »
Good day,

I have been experimenting with VC for a long time now and I must apologize for not being active on the forum :).

@James: great updates to VC. VC keeps proving that it is such a valuable tool in home automation. Even though I know you do not need the compliments... but as a programmer I know that it does not hurt to know that your work is appreciated from time to time ;).

@nime5ter: Well done on the excellent support, tutorials and innovative ideas to integerate VC with other tools.

With that being said, I have been experimenting with the watcher plugin recently and I know that you have been busy with all the updates that you have no time for the watcher plugin, but I thought to throw my request out there.

I think the watcher plugin can be a great plugin if it was a bit dynamic (i.e. being able to assign a folder to the watcher plugin through a command with a payload). If that is quite hard to implement I think the next best option is to have a check box to enable watching "Subdirectories" at the plugin interface.

Also, another set of Watch plugin commands to enable and disable the plugin would be nice but I think this is a bit of a lower priority and it can be worked around for the time being.

Thank you again for the great tool and just to let you know I plan on purchasing VC once my setup is complete and I move to my new place.

PegLegTV

• $upporter
    • View Profile
Re: Extending Watcher Plugin
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2015, 12:07:08 AM »
+1

I think another good feature to add would be the ability to watch multiple folders, I have a Script that I run with eventghost that once the media is finished being transferred or recorded to that folder it then renames and moves the video to the right folder, and if I could get VC to take care of that then eventghost would only be used for my remote  ;D 

jitterjames