Author Topic: Script to mute/un mute mic & Lower volume  (Read 7903 times)

adgwill

• View Profile
Script to mute/un mute mic & Lower volume
« on: July 29, 2011, 10:44:17 AM »
Hi all,

I have been using my media centers for a few years wondering when software such as VC would be good enough to use.After stumbling across some very encouraging youtube clips i haven't even installed the trial yet but am excited to do so.

After reading through a few rather hit and miss reports of using various microphones (as i want to maximise the effectiveness of my trial),  i wondered if anyone had ever tried or had experience with a custom script triggered by a remote key press (i have in mind my Logitech Harmony remotes) to significantly reduce speaker volume (20%?) and un mute the mic for a period of time (bit of trial and error required id expect to get a good length of time).. This should in effect improve accuracy of any mic and start to reproduce the amulet's functionality). After the set time for the mic being un muted it would then return to being muted. I know its not true voice control as their would still be a button press involved but it could offer amulet levels of accuracy whilst still allowing for the use of custom multi device remotes and cheaper/easier to hide microphones.

If anyone knows of a good reason this wont work, if you could let me know before i commit my weekend to setting this all up that would be great. If not - i will report back if i find anything of use :)

Regards

jitterjames

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: Script to mute/un mute mic & Lower volume
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2011, 12:12:42 PM »
yes, this can be done.  If you need help from me in terms of adding / modifying VC just let me know.  You will need a way to communicate with VC though since it does not natively support remotes.  If you use eventGhost this is easy enough to do.  Information can travel both ways between VC and EventGhost through UDP broadcasts.