Author Topic: VC- ECHO Help  (Read 4763 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

cglobal

  • $upporter
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: VC- ECHO Help
« Reply #15 on: August 22, 2017, 11:18:32 PM »
Ok i am proceeding regardless, to see what happens, just to confirm, the tutorial and video manifest different instructions for the following section:

Quote
9. Paste the following to the “Sample Utterances” box and click next:
Code: [Select]
{
  "intents": [ {
    "intent": "PerformAction",
    "slots": [ {
       "name": "Action",
       "type": "COMMANDS"
    } ]
  } ]
}

10. Note the ID on the top of the page that starts with: amzn1.ask.skill...
You will need to add this ID to your code later.

and the Video says:

Quote
PerformAction {Action}
PerformAction {Action} {Action}
PerformAction {Action} {Action} {Action}
PerformAction {Action} {Action} {Action} {Action}
PerformAction {Action} {Action} {Action} {Action} {Action}

Am i looking at it wrong?

I AM ALSO encountering the following error, please advise:

http://imgur.com/a/pXdPl
« Last Edit: August 23, 2017, 12:52:01 AM by cglobal »

cglobal

  • $upporter
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: VC- ECHO Help
« Reply #16 on: August 23, 2017, 12:09:48 AM »
Ok i am proceeding regardless to see what happens, just to confirm, the tutorial and video manifest different instructions for the following section:

and the Video says:

Am i looking at it wrong?

I AM ALSO encountering the following error, please advise:

http://imgur.com/a/pXdPl

Ok well, ignore the above  (Except the discrepancy in codes (video vs. text tutorial, that seems to be a legit error)), i figured out the problem and set everything right in Amazon, but here is the error i got "The remote endpoint could not be called, or the response it returned was invalid."

Comes down to port forwarding not functioning?

For my port forwarding issue does this make any sense, if so cam someone help with this?

Quote
When you port forward on a router, you are telling it to pass any incoming connections on those ports to an internal device.

All that the router does is change the destination IP address on the incoming packet to the internal IP address you have specified. The device at the internal address is responsible for receiving and responding to the incoming connection.

So in order for a port forward to work you need both the port forward set up, and you need the internal device "listening" on the incoming ports.

If the internal device does not have an application running that is ready to accept the incoming connection, it will send a TCP RST packet back to the source, which is generally described as a "Connection refused".

Once you have your applications running on these ports, the port forward test should succeed.

Here is another post about it:

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/40858-42-open-ports

Please see last post - "Best Answer".
« Last Edit: August 23, 2017, 01:34:51 AM by cglobal »

cglobal

  • $upporter
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: VC- ECHO Help
« Reply #17 on: August 23, 2017, 01:33:04 AM »
Ok well, ignore the above, i figured out the problem and set everything right in Amazon, but here is the error i got "The remote endpoint could not be called, or the response it returned was invalid."

Comes down to port forwarding not functioning?

For my port forwarding issue does this make any sense, if so cam someone help with this?


Here is another post about it:

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/40858-42-open-ports

Please see last post - "Best Answer".

Kalle

  • $upporter
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2319
  • Karma: 47
    • View Profile
Re: VC- ECHO Help
« Reply #18 on: August 23, 2017, 01:42:12 AM »
Hey cglobal,
thanks for the info about different code - I have corrected this issue (the code for the “Sample Utterances” which is showing in the video is correct).

At what point did you get the error? Did you start VC with TCP plugin?
« Last Edit: August 23, 2017, 01:55:08 AM by Kalle »
***********  get excited and make things  **********

cglobal

  • $upporter
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: VC- ECHO Help
« Reply #19 on: August 23, 2017, 01:51:00 AM »
Hey cglobal,
thanks for the info about different code - I have corrected this issue (the code for the “Sample Utterances” which is showing in the video is correct).

At what point did you get the error? Did you start VC with TCP plugin?

Hey Kalle, no, this is when i test through service simulator as shown below:

http://imgur.com/a/ipp6n
« Last Edit: August 23, 2017, 02:02:46 AM by Kalle »

Kalle

  • $upporter
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2319
  • Karma: 47
    • View Profile
Re: VC- ECHO Help
« Reply #20 on: August 23, 2017, 02:04:53 AM »
Can you try it again with running VC and TCP plugin?
I don't know if this makes a difference, but we will get sure this is not the issue.
***********  get excited and make things  **********

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7715
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: VC- ECHO Help
« Reply #21 on: August 23, 2017, 09:15:16 AM »
Obviously VoxCommando needs to be running and the TCP plugin needs to be configured, before doing any kind of test.  At least I hope that is obvious!

cglobal

  • $upporter
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: VC- ECHO Help
« Reply #22 on: August 23, 2017, 04:34:12 PM »
Can you try it again with running VC and TCP plugin?
I don't know if this makes a difference, but we will get sure this is not the issue.

Obviously VoxCommando needs to be running and the TCP plugin needs to be configured, before doing any kind of test.  At least I hope that is obvious!

Yep, that was the first thing i did, after which i restarted VC and then proceeded with subsequent steps, still no joy with port forwarding of any kind.

As shown here:

http://imgur.com/a/XM6Hp

And yes i did save settings too before restarting VC.

I also called my ISP and my backup ISP (Both have issued static IPs), tried with both their static issued IPv4 IPs and still no luck. They also confirmed that they have no filtering or blocking with regards to port forwarding of any kind.

One question when forwarding, its your static Ipv4:port right? And the static ip is as shown on "https://whatismyipaddress.com/" correct? What is the difference between that IP and my WAN IP? Am i supposed to use my WAN IP in any way?

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7715
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: VC- ECHO Help
« Reply #23 on: August 23, 2017, 04:39:52 PM »
One question when forwarding, its your static Ipv4:port right? And the static ip is as shown on "https://whatismyipaddress.com/" correct? What is the difference between that IP and my WAN IP? Am i supposed to use my WAN IP in any way?
That is the same thing.  The WAN IP is the external IP of your router as seen by the internet and is the address you should see when you visit http://whatismyipaddress.com

The other IP is the IP of your local PC which is running VoxCommando.  The external port request on the WAN IP should be forwarded to the IP of your local PC.

cglobal

  • $upporter
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: VC- ECHO Help
« Reply #24 on: August 23, 2017, 05:15:04 PM »
That is the same thing.  The WAN IP is the external IP of your router as seen by the internet and is the address you should see when you visit http://whatismyipaddress.com

The other IP is the IP of your local PC which is running VoxCommando.  The external port request on the WAN IP should be forwarded to the IP of your local PC.

Then, "unfortunately" i've done it all exactly as instructed. Port forwarding includes a free port and the IP address of the computer VC is installed on. Not sure what else to do. Any ideas?

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7715
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: VC- ECHO Help
« Reply #25 on: August 23, 2017, 05:31:54 PM »
Unfortunately no.  The only option is for someone to come take a look directly but I do not have time to do that this week.  I am already overloaded.  Maybe next week, or maybe someone else will offer to try...

cglobal

  • $upporter
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: VC- ECHO Help
« Reply #26 on: August 23, 2017, 06:41:44 PM »
Ok, called over an expert networking technician to take a look, will see what he says!