Author Topic: Couple Questions  (Read 4947 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

BulletUpTheAss

  • $upporter
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • UltiGamers
Couple Questions
« on: February 04, 2012, 12:30:47 AM »
I noticed the Skype plugin does not seem to function at all. It doesn't answer calls, call contacts, etc. I might just be programming it wrong but as far as I can tell it's correctly done.

Edit: Figured I'd ask this here too. I had purchased the $25 version. Does this mean I don't get any future updates to VoxCommando or am I misunderstanding? Also is there a way to upgrade at a later date if needed/wanted?

Edit2: I can't seem to figure out how to get spaces or underscores to type using the "DxInput.Type" which is with the DxInput plugin. Any ideas? I tried various things such as _, {_}. {underscore}, {underline}, {SHIFT}({-}), etc. Trying to get it to type in my username for a game. -- Update: Realised I can set it up to say "type underscore" and it will do it, however what I am looking for is for me to say something like "Type Username" and it will type the whole name including the underscore.

Edit3: Removed my origonal question regarding typing, figured it out after watching the tutorials.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2012, 06:17:17 AM by BulletUpTheAss »
Gamer, computer geek and HTC Smartphone Tech Support... I love technology...

Clan: http://www.ultigamers.net/

Current Project (Slow progress): http://www.serversetuphelp.com/

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7713
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: Couple Questions
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2012, 10:28:02 AM »
Hi Bullet,    -- I hope you don't mind if I just call you Bullet for short ::)

Welcome to VoxCommando.  A fellow Canadian I see...  ::wiggle

What is your OS, and is it 32 or 64bit, and what version of SKYPE, what version of VoxCommando?

I assume you have the Skype plugin enabled in VC options?

I have no problems when running the latest version of Skype on my 32 bit machine, but on my Win7 x64 machine, I have problems connecting to Skype 5 so I use the latest version 4 of Skype and it works perfectly.

If you want to zip up your whole VC folder and send it to me, so I can check that you have configured things correctly.

Your license will entitle you to updates for AT LEAST 6 months.  If you decide to upgrade within the first couple months of purchasing I would be happy to accept the difference ($10).

to get a space with dxinput.type you just put a space between words:  
Code: [Select]
dxinput.type  hello   there
If you are just sending a single character (i.e. for gaming) I recommend you use
Code: [Select]
DxInput.KeyPress  {space}
the DxInput commands are actually doing fairly low level keyboard emulation and there is no such actual key as underscore.  So you need to do
Code: [Select]
DxInput.KeyCombo     {shift}      {minus} where {shift} and {minus} are the first and second parameters respectively.

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7713
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: Couple Questions
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2012, 10:57:09 AM »
here's a group with both the sendkeys and the dxinput methods

there is nothing wrong with using sendkeys, if it works.  It will depend on your system and the program being used.

(note since you are new to import a group, just drag the xml file into your command tree) 

BulletUpTheAss

  • $upporter
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • UltiGamers
Re: Couple Questions
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2012, 06:37:25 PM »
Hey James, at work currently so can't really send my file (that and I actually redid the whole thing to get the media monkey config instead of default).

I am using skype 5.5.0.124 which very well could be the issue to be honest. I have 0.939 of VoxCommando, running Windows 7 64bit.

I'll reconfig the commands for Skype again and test it out, possibly install Skype 4 too/share the results. As well as try the underscore/space thing.

I'm loving the software and believe I am defently willing to pay the $10 difference, send me a pm or email me (I'm assuming with you being admin you can see my email) with details on how I can get you the difference via paypal.

P.S. Yes it's defently fine to call me Bullet, and yes I am indeed Canadaian and proud of it lol.
Gamer, computer geek and HTC Smartphone Tech Support... I love technology...

Clan: http://www.ultigamers.net/

Current Project (Slow progress): http://www.serversetuphelp.com/

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7713
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: Couple Questions
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2012, 07:02:26 PM »
There are a bunch of Skype commands that should work in the "mega web bin" or whatever it is called.  When you are editing commands you can click the "blue planet" icon that is on top of the bin.  Then you can drag the skype commands over to your tree.

If skype is working properly, when you click "connect" in the plugin settings skype should open if not already open, and you should see a security window popup in skype asking if you want to allow access, which of course you should.  If you don't see it then VC is not able to communicate at all which means you probably have a version 5 / 64bit issue.  I don't know what Skype did between version 4 and 5 but I have not been able to find the problem or solution.

BulletUpTheAss

  • $upporter
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • UltiGamers
Re: Couple Questions
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2012, 08:46:37 PM »
Still at work currently but that would probably be where I went wrong. I didn't think that Skype/Vox would need some sort of communication seeing as Media Monkey worked "out of the box", but that does make more sense as I was wondering how it worked. Will test when I'm off in a couple hours and let you know.

Edit: Home now, tried pressing connect (still using Skype 5) and it was unable to, when I clicked "Gen XML" I get the following:

error:System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException (0x80040154): Retrieving the COM class factory for component with CLSID {830690FC-BF2F-47A6-AC2D-330BCB402664} failed due to the following error: 80040154.
   at vcPlugin.controlSkype.connectAndRegisterEvents()
   at vcPlugin.controlSkype.getContactList()
   at vcPlugin.Plugin.doAction(String[] parsedActions, String[] parsedParams)

Didnt know if that would help at all.

Edit2: Sendkeys worked perfect for underscore. Thanks for that.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2012, 02:34:16 AM by BulletUpTheAss »
Gamer, computer geek and HTC Smartphone Tech Support... I love technology...

Clan: http://www.ultigamers.net/

Current Project (Slow progress): http://www.serversetuphelp.com/

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7713
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: Couple Questions
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2012, 11:10:40 AM »
I think I may have fixed it.

delete all the files in your vc\plugins\skype folder and replace with these ones.

I did a quick test on my htpc which is 64bit with skype 5 and it worked fine.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2012, 11:13:40 AM by jitterjames »

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7713
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: Couple Questions
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2012, 01:25:11 PM »
I also updated the DxInput plugin to include some extra characters in the "type" action:

http://voxcommando.com/forum/index.php?topic=743

BulletUpTheAss

  • $upporter
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • UltiGamers
Re: Couple Questions
« Reply #8 on: February 05, 2012, 03:56:05 PM »
Thanks I'll try out both when I get off work tonight. Also still curious on how I can get you the $10 difference to upgrade to the lifetime version.

Edit: Sent you the money and a PM regarding a problem I encountered on the site.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2012, 12:55:10 AM by BulletUpTheAss »
Gamer, computer geek and HTC Smartphone Tech Support... I love technology...

Clan: http://www.ultigamers.net/

Current Project (Slow progress): http://www.serversetuphelp.com/

BulletUpTheAss

  • $upporter
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • UltiGamers
Re: Couple Questions
« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2012, 07:27:50 AM »
Tried the updated Skype plugin and it still cannot connect. I will fiddle with it more tomorrow after work, sleep time lol.
Gamer, computer geek and HTC Smartphone Tech Support... I love technology...

Clan: http://www.ultigamers.net/

Current Project (Slow progress): http://www.serversetuphelp.com/

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7713
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: Couple Questions
« Reply #10 on: February 06, 2012, 10:11:23 AM »
hmmm.  too bad. ::confused  Make sure your firewall isn't blocking either program (I don't know if this matters or not in this case).  When you first launch VoxCommando you should have seen a firewall popup that gives you the opportunity to allow VC through the firewall.  I think you must have allowed it though or you wouldn't have been able to activate it.  You could also try to disable UAC and see if it makes any difference.

I will do some more testing here. 

Has anyone else tested this?  Please share your results and which OS you are using.

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7713
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: Couple Questions
« Reply #11 on: February 06, 2012, 10:23:23 AM »
testing on my win7 64bit system, running the latest skype currently available (5.8.0.154) with UAC enabled (and a reboot) and the firewall blocking VoxCommando, and it still works fine.

BulletUpTheAss

  • $upporter
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • UltiGamers
Re: Couple Questions
« Reply #12 on: February 06, 2012, 02:50:09 PM »
So had time before work to come check the thread. UAC is off already and I have allowed the connection through the firewall, is there any specific port Vox uses to communicate with Skype? I wouldn't think so with it being a local connection but worth a shot. Also my Skype.exe is located here: C:\Program Files (x86)\Skype\Phone as far as I can tell this is the default location. Would the location of Skype have any affect?

Edit: Thanks for pointing out that the latest was 5.8, I had 5.5 (Which the update button on skype said was the latest)... Installed 5.8 and it works perfect now. Now I just need to learn how to program it better  :biglaugh. Think that's all the issues I was having lol.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2012, 03:04:12 PM by BulletUpTheAss »
Gamer, computer geek and HTC Smartphone Tech Support... I love technology...

Clan: http://www.ultigamers.net/

Current Project (Slow progress): http://www.serversetuphelp.com/

jitterjames

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7713
  • Karma: 116
    • View Profile
    • VoxCommando
Re: Couple Questions
« Reply #13 on: February 06, 2012, 03:11:56 PM »
hurray!  :yay